How ADHD Affected Me: Part 3

Note: If you haven’t read my previous two blogs, please do. This one will make more sense.

After working at my job for about two years, I decided to take a big leap in life. It was a risk in several aspects, but, to me, the benefits far outweighed the risks. I decided to propose to my best friend in life. She said, “Yes!” and we got married less than a year later.

Our first year of marriage was challenging. We argued almost daily and often went to bed bitter. My wife got mad at me for things that I thought I had no control over—the symptoms of my ADHD. Her complaints were legitimate, but I couldn’t figure out how to deal with the symptoms, which led to a war of frustrations and misunderstandings.

We eventually went to counseling to help us figure out what was wrong and how to better deal with our issues. Our counselor said that I might be depressed or could have possibly had a small stroke earlier in my life. I went to my doctor with this information, but she said that I most likely had a thyroid issue. I requested a psychological evaluation to see if I had any other underlying issues. She hesitated, saying it probably wouldn’t reveal the main reason for my issues, but sent the referral anyway. I called the psychologist on the referral and set up my series of appointments.

When I went to my initial appointment with the psychologist, I was excited and nervous at the same time. I was excited to learn more about myself, but I couldn’t help but wonder if I actually had a stroke and could possibly have more in the future. I asked the psychologist about it, and he reassured me that I seemed like a healthy, smart young man.

On the day of my test, I made sure to get plenty of rest and eat a healthy breakfast, just like my teachers always told us to do before we took our big exams in school. The test ended up being a lot of fun for me. There was a lot of logic and reasoning with a sprinkle of word pronunciation and knowledge.

Two weeks later, I went back to the office to get my results. The psychologist said he was astounded by the results. He said that I was a textbook example of someone with ADHD. He revealed to me that I had a very high IQ (121), which was why I was able to go so long without being diagnosed. When he told me my IQ, I asked him if I should take the Mensa entrance exam. He said he would be surprised if I didn’t make it in, so I called my local Mensa group and scheduled my test for next Saturday. I’ll let you know whether or not I make it when I get my results.

So there’s my overview of how ADHD has affected my life up to this point. I intentionally left out the details of my treatment for a later post. If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to leave a comment below or email me.

For my next post, I’ve asked my wife if she would be willing to give you her insight on ADHD and how her life has been affected by being married to someone with ADHD. She enthusiastically agreed and is very excited to add another dynamic to the blog. I should mention that I won’t edit or update her post(s), so it will be entirely her opinion.

Stay tuned!

Let me know what you think!

