Adderall and Me

Adderall
Image by Arenamontanus via Flickr

Note: From this point on, this blog is going to be a regular recap of my life and how my ADHD affects me. I want to post once or twice a week, unless something occurs to me that either prevents me from posting or inspires me to post sooner.

I’d like to start out by saying “Thank you!” to my wife for contributing to my blog. Most of what she wrote was stuff I already knew, but there were a couple of points that gave me some insight that I never had before. I’m still amazed at how the smallest outside perspective can have such a large impact on someone’s way of thinking.

So, what is this post going to be about? As the title implies, this one is going to be my personal evaluation of my medication.

I know it’s been a couple of weeks since I started this blog, and I haven’t really said much about what’s happening now. I was trying to bring you up to speed and give you a little back-story, so you can understand me a little better. Every relationship starts with an introduction, so I wanted to give you a solid one.

When I started this blog, I had just started taking Adderall. I was three days into taking it, so I still wasn’t sure what the full effects were going to be. Since I’ve been on it for a while, I feel like I can give you a better evaluation.

First, I’ll tell you exactly what I’m taking: Amphetamine Salts, 20 mg tabs, once daily.

When I started taking it, the hardest part for me was to not focus on all the side-effects I had just read about. Every little abnormality set off a red flag in my mind. The side-effects that have been consistent until now are (in order of prominence):

  • Fidgeting
  • Faster movements/speech
  • Reduced appetite
  • Weight loss
  • Occasional liver pain

Some of these aren’t side-effects that are listed on the paper I received, but they seem to occur while the medicine is still active. The last one is the scariest, but I believe that’s part of my body’s reaction to the new chemical plus my lack of hydration—something I need to fix. The other side-effects are ones that I can work around and deal with, so I don’t see them as a big problem; however, I will be bringing up all of my side-effects with my doctor. I may not see them as a big deal, but I also don’t have a medical degree.

On the bright side, I am able to do more while on the medicine. For example, I was able to write and edit my “About” page and my first two posts in one night. I think some of that was from the Adderall, but I also think it was due to the excitement of starting a new blog mixed with a large amount of information.

Overall, I can see the benefits and the set-backs that Adderall can bring. As of now, it’s helped me in some ways and affected me negatively in others. The ratio between benefits and hindrances is about equal.

Let me know what you think!

