Mensa Exam

Exam

Yesterday was the big day. It was the day that I’d been waiting for–the day I was scheduled to take the Mensa Admission Test (MAT).

I was a little nervous but mostly excited. I had studied for a month, taking every free IQ and brain workout test I could find. I even downloaded the Mensa app to get a feel for what the real test was going to be like. However, none of the practice tests and exercises that I had studied (even the Mensa ones) were guaranteed to be like the real test. I had no way of knowing which subjects were going to be on my test. For all I knew, I could have studied everything that wasn’t on the test.

I drove to the testing location, mentally reviewing and quizzing myself over everything I’d studied. I arrived a few minutes early, so I anxiously waited in the lobby until the room was opened. When they finally opened the door, I walked in, only to find out that the test director had to set up the tables. She told me to come back in about 15 minutes, so I went back to the lobby and found a comfortable seat. I decided to try to prime my brain by squeezing in another practice test before the real deal.

I didn’t do as well on the mini-test as I had hoped, but I wasn’t going to let it get me down. I proceeded to the testing room, signed in and asked God to help me do well on the test.

As the proctor handed out the first part of the test, I made sure my pencil lead was sharp and secure (I’d had too many pencil tips break in the past for me to neglect this vital inspection). The proctor read the instructions and told us to begin. The questions on this part of the test were varied and increased in difficulty. I believe it was intended to test the person’s ability to quickly switch gears and still maintain a high level of competence.

The second part of the test was comprised of many short sections, each focusing on one subject area. I can’t tell you exactly what was in each section, but can say that I do feel like the training really helped me learn new ways to approach the questions. As in the first test, the questions within each section increased in difficulty. I felt like there was no logical answer on a few of the questions, but that’s where the abstract and lateral ways of thinking prevail.

In the end, I feel like I did the best I could have done on any given day. I left the room feeling confident, yet humbled. For me, the hardest part of the test is happening right now–waiting for the results. I won’t get the results for about two or three weeks, so now I get to test my patience. When I do get the results, though, I’ll make sure you’re one of the first to know.

In my non-professional opinion, I highly recommend taking the test. You might surprise yourself. Plus, there’s a coupon on the website for $15 off the testing fee if you take the test in October.

So long, my friend.

2 thoughts on “Mensa Exam”

    1. LoL No, Mensa is not an IQ test. Mensa is an organization. The only requirement to get in is that you have an IQ in the top 2% of the global population. As for what it means, the organization got the name from the Latin term for “the table,” which symbolizes the equality of all of its members, regardless of age, race, religion, etc. The use of the word in Spanish that you’re referring to is most likely an ironic use of the word, such as, sarcastically calling someone a “genius” in English.

      Like

Let me know what you think!

