Adderall Scare and Mensa Results

Picture taken by myself of my Adderall prescri...
Image via Wikipedia

I haven’t taken my Adderall for almost a week now, and for good reason. A couple of weeks ago, I wrote a post about my side effects while taking the medicine. I had a couple of issues, but nothing seemed serious enough to convince me to go to my doctor.

Then, on Wednesday, I was on my way to work when my left bicep started hurting. I know it’s not the shoulder area that the heart attack warnings focus on, but it was close enough for me to decide that I needed to stop taking the medicine until I talked to my doctor.

I scheduled an appointment as soon as I could. Unfortunately, the earliest appointment wasn’t until today. I went to the appointment this morning, and she said that it didn’t sound like my issues were related to the medication. She said that it was up to me to decide if I should stop taking the Adderall, depending on whether the risks outweighed the benefits, so that’s exactly what I decided to do. I feel like the medication is hurting more than helping, so I’m going to see if I can find another way to overcome my ADHD.

Perhaps I’ll try to focus on brain games and mind exercises and see if that helps–a sort of Mind-Over-ADHD, if you will.

Mensa International
Image via Wikipedia

Now, for the second half of my post: On Friday, I got an email from Mensa letting me know that they had received my test. My excitement grew when I read the email, because it meant that I was one step closer to finding out if I qualified for membership. The email basically said, “We received your test. Now wait 5-10 business days for us to score it.” It wasn’t amazing news, but it did cut my waiting time from 14-21 days down to just 5-10 days.

On Saturday, however, I received another email from Mensa. Without even reading the title, I knew it was the results. My phone shows the first few lines of my emails, so I didn’t  have to open it to discover the verdict. The word “CONGRATULATIONS” was all I needed to see. The excitement rushed through me like a tidal wave. I had achieved one of my biggest life goals! I had to contain it, though, because I wanted to slowly introduce the topic to my wife before springing it on her.

After telling her the news, she congratulated me and told me how proud she was. When I told her how much my membership would cost ($84/year), she responded with, “Just knowing you qualified should be enough, right?”

I laughed and said that I really really wanted to join. She reluctantly agreed, but said that I could only join for a year. After the year is up, we’ll reevaluate our situation and my interest in the organization. Unfortunately for me, I have ADHD, which means that long-term interests aren’t my forte.

Hopefully this one will be one of the few exceptions.

4 thoughts on “Adderall Scare and Mensa Results”

  1. Congrats on the Mensa thing. I found out I qualify based on old ACT and GRE scores, but not sure I want to spend the money to join either. I almost want to take the test anyway to prove to myself I’m not getting dumber as I get older. Hope the meds issue get sorted out. You might start reading the research on “gifted adults” as well.

    Like

    1. Thank you for the congrats. I never took the SAT/ACT, so I had to take the Mensa test to qualify. My meds were alright at first, but then that scare convinced me to find other ways around my ADHD. I’ll start researching that and see what I can find. Thanks again.

      Like

  2. Congrats on the test results. I’ve found Mensa to be a great way to connect with others with similar interests without all the intellectual oneupmanship that comes with usual interactions online and in person. I also find talking to be more natural, as I’m not worried about how to say things.

    Like

  3. Well done Ryan!

    I’m glad your wife authorized things for you… 🙂

    Please let us know how your new social interactions with fellow members make you feel. It has been a while since you wrote this so please keep us posted on that aspect of your “life dream” – we’re listening!

    Like

Let me know what you think!

