I’m Back, Just Like My Dreams

Hey strangers! It’s been way too long since I’ve posted on here. Life has been a little busy lately. I had a sleep study, my daughter got sick and of course there was Thanksgiving.

My sleep study was very eye-opening, literally. I don’t know how on earth they get accurate data when they make the patient as uncomfortable as possible. I was super tired, but I just couldn’t go to sleep with all the leads attached to my head. Not only that, they told me that I had to sleep on my back as much as possible, which I absolutely cannot do. For some reason, if I lie on my back or tilt my head back for too long, I get a headache. If anyone can tell me why this happens, I’d really like to know.

At my follow-up appointment yesterday, I found out that I have sleep apnea. It’s an issue where a person stops breathing when they’re asleep, and it’s very common. They said that I stopped breathing 15.1 times per hour, which puts me at the moderate level (five times per hour is considered normal). The treatment that they suggested is a machine that pumps air into my nose to keep my airway open when I’m sleeping. I’m not really sure how to feel about the machine. When I tried it at the doctor, it made it easier to breathe in, but harder to exhale. I’m going to start using it tonight and see if it makes a significant difference in my sleep quality.

When I was looking at the information booklet about sleep apnea, it listed the symptoms, which look very similar to the symptoms of ADHD. Perhaps the doctor was on to something when she said my “ADHD” could actually be a sleep disorder. Only time will tell.

On top of all that, I’ve run into another problem. I keep having dreams about family members dying. I have no idea why. The only thing I can think of is that God is answering one of my prayers. A couple weeks ago, I said a really heartfelt prayer to Him about wanting to be able to reach my deeper feelings more easily.

I didn’t expect it to come in the form of dreams, but His answer has definitely made an impact. I’m not suddenly super emotional or anything, but I can really feel a difference in how much I want to interact with family and friends that I don’t normally see. I used to see them when I went home for the Holidays or vacation, but now I have a couple good ideas about how to keep in touch between those times.

Thanks for reading. Comments are welcomed and encouraged, good or bad!

2 thoughts on “I’m Back, Just Like My Dreams”

  1. Good to see another post! My father has sleep apnea and it causes him a lot of problems, but he uses a machine and it’s helped him a lot. It’s better to catch it while you’re young.

    Like

  2. Ahh, sleep apnea. My nemesis. I have to admit, the CPAP has done wonders for me and my wife now can sleep as well without the constant snoring from me.
    Hasn’t helped my ADD, but not feeling like a zombie all day sure is nice.
    Your comments on God are timely for me, as I’ve recently started praying again and trying to build a relationship with Christ. I’ve found it much easier to cope with life with God’s help.

    Like

Let me know what you think!

