Focus

English: Symptoms of ADHD described by the lit...
Image via Wikipedia

I don’t know if it’s my ADHD or just how I am, but I have a hard time focusing. Obviously, I haven’t been keeping up with my blog like I said I would. I don’t know why it’s so hard for me to focus. It seems like the littlest things distract me from whatever I’m doing.

For instance, as I’m writing this, I’m constantly getting distracted by a kids TV show. Granted it’s a show that I used to love, I don’t think it should be so easy for me to lose concentration.

It’s such a problem for me that I rarely finish projects, and I can’t seem to remember hardly anything. I either get bored with the hobby, or I find something that seems way more interesting. Here’s a list of things I’ve attempted, but never stuck with:

  • Woodworking
  • Writing a Book
  • Model Trains
  • Curling
  • Photography
  • Real Estate
  • Computer Programming
  • Blogging

The proctor at my psych-eval said my bad memory could just be a problem with prioritizing and assigning importance to tasks and information, but I can’t seem to figure out how to fix it.The problem with having a bad memory and an inability to focus/prioritize is that it’s hard to remember to do the tasks and exercises needed to help my situation. 

It’s so frustrating. My wife doesn’t even believe me when I say I want to try something new anymore. I’d love to find a way to fix it, but I can’t seem to find anything that holds my attention long enough to work.

Any ideas or suggestions?

Let me know what you think!

