To Write or Not to Write

One of the top things on my bucket list is to write and publish a novel. I think it would give me a sense of accomplishment over my ADHD. I even have an idea for it and a rough outline.

But oh how the obstacles stacked up as I researched what it takes to achieve such a goal. The amount of time and effort needed to write a half-decent novel is equivalent to a part-/full-time job.

After that endeavor comes the publishing side. That’s a monster in and of itself. Not only is it nearly impossible to get an agent, it’s not guaranteed that they’ll even be able to sell it! I know I can try to self-publish, but that’s a last resort for me.

The hardest part of the publishing process for me is that I really only want to write one book. I don’t plan on making it a career, and I’m assuming that not many agents will want to put their time and effort into someone who isn’t going to keep producing novels.

If I get another stroke of inspiration, then I might attempt to do more, but I’ll try to finish my first book before thinking about that.

Okay, I’m done venting about all the bad stuff. Now it’s time to focus. I can do this if I put my mind to it. I can spare some extra time each day to put towards this goal and turn these obstacles into steps. Steps I can climb one at a time until, one day, I finish.

4 thoughts on “To Write or Not to Write”

  1. There are a million reasons not to write a novel. It’s a lot of work. There’s a good chance when you’re done, that you won’t be able to publish it (at least through the agent/literary press market). And yet, thousands of novels are published each year.

    Ask yourself what you want to get out of it. I write because it is my job, but I also write because it is my calling, and because it is therapeutic.

    Some people start writing and say “it probably won’t get published anyway” and quit. Some say the same thing to keep going. If you’re doing it for fame and fortune, you’ll have better odds playing the lottery. If you’re doing it because you have something to say, then even if no one else reads it, you will be successful. I get the fame and fortune bug, and it always shuts down the process.

    And if no one wants to publish it, publish it yourself. Thousands of people do it for as many different reasons. Whatever you do, don’t do it to solve all your problems. It won’t.

    I’m going to go work on my novel now . . .

    Like

  2. You might find more inspiration to write more books.I’ve put so much effort into my current novel that I want to finish it and see what happens. I already have the next project going through my mind and I will not stop writing. I need to write now. Without it I think I would be too sad.

    Like

  3. Thanks guys. I’m going to try to complete it for sure. And since I don’t have any intention of becoming a multi-novel author, I’m not really writing for fame and fortune. I just really want to do it for the experience and the sense of accomplishment.

    Like

Let me know what you think!

