LEADing with ADHD

IMG_8841
IMG_8841 (Photo credit: Bengt Nyman)

Disclaimer: I’m not a super successful business leader. I actually don’t have much leadership experience in the workplace, so please don’t take what I say as perfect advice. I simply want to make mention of recent changes in my life and how my ADHD has affected them.

About two weeks ago, I was given the opportunity to become a temporary team lead at work. What that basically means is, I’m the middle man between the workers and the boss, like a manager’s assistant. I’ve wanted to try the position for some time now, since I eventually want to make it to upper management.

I had to wait 3 1/2 years to get my opportunity, but I believe that was perfect timing. Not only did it allow me to gain the experience I needed to do well in the position, but I also don’t think I would have gotten very far in my previous work assignments.

So far, the manager I’m working under says I’m doing a really good job, but I always feel like I can do something better the next day. He does a great job at telling me what I can improve on and then following it up with positive feedback. It leaves me with a positive outlook for what I need to correct.

Back to my original question: how has ADHD affected me and my new-found responsibilities? Surprisingly, not much. I feel like I’ve done really well with it. Most of my work is done on the computer, so I sometimes find myself wandering across the internet. I usually catch it and redirect my attention to what needs to be done, but sometimes I let it go and use the distraction as a break between the battles.

It makes me feel normal.

I don’t feel like I’m fighting this big monster, nor neglecting what needs to be done. I really feel like this is something I should be doing. It’s enough stimuli that I don’t have much time to lose focus, but it’s not overwhelming to the point that I want to give up. Also, every day presents new problems for our team to solve, so that definitely feeds my hunger for variety.

This whole experience has been eye-opening and worth every moment. I just hope i can find my place as a permanent lead, or more, soon.

-Ryan

P.S. A quick update on my book: I solved a few issues and jotted down a couple of notes that I’m excited to add. I bought a wonderful novel-writing program that should help me with organization and planning. I have yet to really sit down and hammer it all out, but I have a feeling that once I get started, I’ll be on a roll for at least…an hour. 🙂

Let me know what you think!

