Go Big or Go Crazy

Rock Climbing in Dali
Rock Climbing in Dali (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hello friends. I pretty much failed my last task of starting a chain of healthier and more productive habits. Sometimes I feel like my uphill battle with ADHD is more of a cliff. But there is hope! How does one conquer a cliff? By training and working out and practicing. So that’s what I’m going to do.

I’ve found a new “hobby” that I hope will stick. Not only will it add health benefits, but also a commitment that I can’t really back down from. On the downside, most of my hobbies start out with this same excitement and focus, only to burn out in a couple of weeks. Part of my new “hobby” is that it’s in 12 weeks, which will help me fight my urge to quit early. It also requires a lot of dedication and training. So what is it? I’m going to race in  my first Sprint Triathlon!

I never thought I could even come close to finishing a triathlon, since I’m not a long-distance runner. I honestly don’t even know what changed my mind enough to even think about trying it. I saw a post on facebook about a triathlon meeting, so I decided that I’d poke around the internet and see what it’s all about. After doing some research, I found out that it’s not as bad as I thought. It just takes dedication, discipline and commitment.

I hope this is the one that I stay with. I feel really good about it, and really refreshed after just a couple days of training. I have to do this. For me and for my family. Otherwise I’ll drive us all crazy with yet another unfinished project.

-Ryan

One thought on “Go Big or Go Crazy”

  1. Thank you Ryan and Eva for this blog. It’s been very insightful. I loved reading the parts from an outside perspective!

    Like

Let me know what you think!

