More Time Spent Means More Time to Spend

Writing
Writing (Photo credit: jjpacres)

Hello strangers. It’s been way too long since I’ve been on here. I hope you haven’t lost hope in me yet.

Since we last talked, I’ve been growing closer to family, more content with my job, and more whole as a person.

I’ve been spending much more time with my family than before, which has many benefits beyond those found by other means (i.e. books, games, pointless internet surfing, etc.). It still baffles me how much more free time can be found by spending more time with someone. I feel better about myself, both physically and mentally. You should definitely try it if you haven’t already.

My job has become more satisfactory for sure. I work with a great group of people and have just enough variety of tasks to keep me interested, but not overwhelmed. Although, I must say that I don’t really appreciate the cold, wet conditions I have to suffer through.

All these little factors have combined and boosted my overall sense of being. I’ve found myself more energetic and much happier than before.

Having all these epiphanies and self-reflective discoveries has helped me to refocus my life on the more important things. Don’t get me wrong, I still play games and watch sports. I just don’t do it nearly as much as I used to. I’ve also found that my growing need to write has been steadily increasing.

My favorite books to read have always been either space- or medieval-themed (most recently the series A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin), so naturally, I wanted to write a novel of a similar theme. I had a really good idea for a space sci-fi novel, even going so far as to design a few ships and character profiles; however, I found a flaw that ultimately led to me trashing the dream.

Then I had an actual dream—a dream that took me by surprise and fanned the flame for a very different novel. I never thought I’d ever have any interest in the genre, but it intrigued me. I woke up from the beginning of a political  thriller. And that’s all I’m going to say until I get a little further into the writing.

Sometimes ADHD has its surprises, both good and bad.

Let me know what you think!

