Books vs Books

open book
open book (Photo credit: sarah_browning)

So I know I’ve been gone a while. I can’t say I was too busy or preoccupied. I felt like I didn’t have anything particularly interesting to say about my life with ADHD. I felt like I would be cheating you out of the purpose of this blog if I didn’t include some sort of struggle or triumph. But alas, I feel like I can now look back and share with you all the little things that have added up.

First, I read a blog earlier this year about making a reading list of books read. I chose to try it out myself. So far, I’ve read several books, including 3 1/2 of A Song of Ice and Fire books, The Hunger Games trilogy and The Hobbit to name a few. I even proofread a book for an author friend of mine.

Also, I started learning how to code at Codecademy. It’s a great resource for anyone who wants to learn how to read and/or write computer code. It has plenty of lessons and achievements. I completed the JavaScript and HTML/CSS series, but don’t ask me to write your next website. I struggled through a lot of the more complex subjects, which is what makes websites do all the cool stuff. It’s been fun, but I’m taking a break. jQuery has become my enemy.

Finally, let’s address the title of this blog. Since I’ve been reading so much, as I mentioned before, I’ve found that I can imagine and create and play in my mind much better than before. It’s so refreshing to know that I still got it. 😛

My wife and I have also been reading to my daughter to get her ready for school next year. We read about 30 children’s books a week. Sometimes more, sometimes less. Some of them are from our childhood. They brought back memories and have made us think, “This book is crazy! Why did they let kids read this!?” more than once.

Although my books and my daughter’s books have little in common, other than they have words and pages, I have come to realize something. To a kid, the pictures in books are wonderful. They bring the words to life and help them understand what’s going on, even if they don’t know all the meanings. But in my books, there are no pictures. They look so boring and monotonous. Yet, with each passing word, a new life begins to form. Whole worlds are created and destroyed. Lives are saved and lost. I’m forced to make the black-on-white monotony become real.

I started to become a standard human, one of those simple letters slowly marching along the pages of life—then I read a book. The letters of my life began to move a little, then dance, then fly! My life began to take off again as I started to imagine once more. That’s what makes novels so amazing. That’s why we have to keep our kids reading, no matter what age they are.

We can’t live without dreaming. We can’t dream without imagining.

Pick up a book and bring your pages to life!

3 thoughts on “Books vs Books”

  1. Inspirational post. I’m an ADHD dad with an ADHD kid, and we both struggle to finish just about any book we start. The sad irony is I impulsively buy tons of books with best intentions to read them. What has helped me a little bit is shifting to more digital media. I read e-books, but I also podcast a lot, and am now working on embracing blogs. Graphic novels (again in digital format) seem to keep my attention too. None of that replaces a good book, though… I think I’ve accepted that I just won’t be someone who gets through the 50 great works of literature or something like that. Good for you for finding joy in books (and completing them!)

    Like

    1. Thank you for the comment. I completely understand, as I’ve started so many other projects without finishing them that my wife has become quite the skeptic when I tell her I have a new project in mind. But for some reason books have really worked for me. I think it’s because it feeds into my desire to start and experience many new things from many different subjects. Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t start reading so much until late last year. Before that, I was in the same boat as you. I had to force myself to sit down and read at first, but eventually it stuck. Even now, I still take breaks, so I won’t get bored with it. Hang in there and keep trying.

      Like

Let me know what you think!

