One Year Later [Almost]

I’ve definitely fallen short of my goal of writing on here frequently. I believe I said that I wanted to write every week or so. When I signed in, I noticed that it’s been nearly a year! Sorry everyone.

My lack of writing has not come from life being boring. Quite the opposite actually. I’ve had time to write, but always seem to be too tired or focused on something else. My life is still busy, and there doesn’t seem to be a calm moment in my near future, BUT I will try to get back to writing to you.

So, what’s been going on that’s kept me so busy?

Our daughter leaving for her first day of Kindergarten.
Our daughter leaving for her first day of Kindergarten.

Not long after my last post, my daughter started Kindergarten, which officially marked the beginning of her “growing up” years. It was both exciting and stressful. I love watching her grow up, but I don’t know if I’m ready to see her grow up completely. I know there are still 12 years of fun ahead until she’s all grown up. And I look forward to it all. However, I still can’t help but look into the future and worry a little.

Along with that, I tried to start a YouTube channel, write a couple books, I read a few books, we went to a bunch of hockey games, celebrated birthdays, and went to Texas for Christmas.

The biggest news of all, though, happened around November. My wife and I found out we’re expecting! We didn’t think we were able to conceive, so it came as a bit of a shock for both of us. I was a little nervous, since the age gap between our two kids will be almost 7 years. Plus, we had already grown comfortable with our family of 3 just the way it was. Of course none of that makes me any less excited about this incredible turn of events. My wife and I talked about how we are going to have to readjust our lives completely to accommodate an infant. So, for the past several months, the three of us have been focused on preparing for our new little one.

It’s amazing how simple things like looking for a pacifier clip or deciding what shade of paint to use on the nursery walls is so exciting. I never thought I’d have so much fun shopping for outfits. After all, I don’t even like buying jeans for myself, but the thought for buying them for a baby just feels so different. The new baby isn’t even here yet, and the little one is already making my life even more fun and exciting! I can’t wait to see my daughter become a big sister right before my eyes.

Our newest addition!
Our newest addition!

SPOILER ALERT: If you’re curious about what we’re having, let me just say that we’re evening up the odds in our house. It’s gonna be a fair fight now with a little guy on my side. We have decided on a name: Atlas. It’s a strong name with a bit of a double influence. My wife likes the mythological origin of it and I absolutely love space, so a throwback to the Atlas rockets was kinda nice for me. 😛 His full name is coming soon, so stay tuned!

I’m almost to work now, and I feel like this is a good place to stop. Plus, my post would be way too long if I recalled everything, so I’ll leave you with just the big things.

Take care. 🙂

One thought on “One Year Later [Almost]”

  1. Congrats on the new addition to your family! I am 33 and my fiance’ is only 24 so we have decided on getting a dog soon as out first step to making our family bigger. I have thoughts if writing a book myself, I have started just writing about my life and we’ll see where things go from there.

    Like

Let me know what you think!

