#NoGoodell

I was going to post this as a Facebook status, but the more I thought about it, the longer my thoughts ran.

So here it is.

I’ve been listening to the recent news reports about Ray Rice, and every day it becomes more clear to me that Roger Goodell needs to step down as Commissioner of the NFL. If you haven’t seen or heard the details, you can read about it here.

This makes me sick. He completely missed the mark on the punishment, and did nothing to help Rice’s fiancee. He protected a star player over a victim. Status shouldn’t matter when it comes to justice, but when big money is involved, it often skews the moral compass of those in power.

Even without the interior perspective of the second video, it was clear from the first video that something violent had happened inside. That alone should have been justification to fire him from the privileged and luxurious life he had been given.

So why fire Roger if he’s just one man in a large organization? Simply put, he made sure that the discipline of players and staff rested solely on his shoulders. All punishments go through him. Period.

He chose the two-game suspension when he could have done much more. This, to me, shows a tremendous disrespect for Janay and every other victim of domestic violence by valuing dollars over dignity.

I’m a big fan of football, but no game will excuse acts of violence. And for that reason, I will not be watching any NFL games this week. Possibly the rest of the season. I’m not going to feed their pockets and reward them for their blatant disregard for human decency.

#NoGoodell

Let me know what you think!

