Personal Challenge #1: Short Stories

Thanks to my ADHD, I have a hard time finishing projects and focusing. I’m going to try to combat this by giving myself challenges. This is my first challenge, so I’m only going to make it one week long. I may continue beyond this week, but I don’t want to push it.

Here’s my personal challenge: Every day, I will write at least one short story and post it/them here on my blog. I may have to post it later than the date written, but I must write at least one a day. I will be using the Writing Challenge App to give me my daily prompt(s).

Here we go!

Prompt 1:

Screenshot_2014-09-15-10-32-57[1]Screenshot_2014-09-15-10-33-07[1]

“Tell him I’m here to pick up my suit,” Charlie nervously said to the clerk. His eyes shifted from wall to wall as he surveyed the place.

The clerk gave him an uncertain look before he turned hurried off to the back room. While the clerk was in the back, Charlie pulled out his knife and stepped over to the side of the counter. He could see the sweat on his brow in the large mirror next to him. It was now or never. He didn’t have time to ponder his decisions.

His hand tightened around the handle of the knife, nerves hanging on by a thread. His thoughts raced to a faraway place. Shaking his head, he forced himself to focus.

He lifted the knife just as the clerk entered from the back room.

The clerk calmly placed the tuxedo on the counter and asked, “Is the big day today, sir?”

“Yes sir,” Charlie replied, guiding the knife through the forest of stubble on his chin.

The clerk smiled, “She’s a very lucky lady to have a man so concerned about his appearance. Congratulations, and I wish you many years of happiness.”

Let me know what you think!

