Early New Year’s Resolution

PaperCamera2014-12-16-13-40-48[1]For some reason, I’ve been thinking about my New Year’s Resolution lately. I normally don’t even make one, let alone think of them. But alas, my mind has wandered and dragged me down this path.

It seems to have started while I was finishing Head of the Dragon by Ryk Brown. As I was finishing the book, it reminded me of a blog I had previously read where the author made a list of all the books they had read that year.

I decided that I want to not only record every book I read next year, but also set a goal of reading at least fifteen novels (70k+ words) or the equivalent (1,050,000 words). I presume that I read about 10 books of that size per year, so I want to push myself a little further.

I also want to publish at least 30 blog posts, which is a little less than one per week. That will nearly double my current total over the past four years (40). It doesn’t sound like a lot, but if you’ve been following my blog, you already know how big of a challenge that’s going to be for me.

I would also like to write more–both physically and electronically. I want to write a letter a month to family and friends, and I want to write at least three chapters for my book.

I would also like to get all my posts recorded (audio) and posted on here, but that’s more of a bonus goal for me.

I know I put a lot of numbers and information up there, so here’s a summary of my NYR (not New York Rangers, fellow hockey fans) List:

Primary

  1. Read at least 15 novels (70k+ words), or 1,050,000 words total.
  2. Publish at least 30 blog posts.
  3. Write a letter a month to family/friends.
  4. Write at least three chapters of my book.

Optional

  1. Record blog posts in audio format.

I will update these goals throughout the year, or as needed. I’m going to set a limit on myself by not counting anything prior to the beginning of 2015. In other words, the book I’m currently reading and the cards I’m writing will not count, even if they carry over.

2 thoughts on “Early New Year’s Resolution”

Let me know what you think!

