New Year, New Look

Happy New Year!

As I stated in a previous post, I decided to give my blog a much-needed makeover. I’m sure you’ve noticed the change in the layout. I think it’s a little too dark, but the other free options I had were way too bright. The only way for me to get a color scheme that I like is to pay $99 per year. That’s not going to happen unless this blog gets tremendously popular.

I also stated that I want to change the format to that of a written letter. I decided on that style because I feel like I open up more and hide less when I write that way. Plus, I figure that it’s more personal and welcoming. So, here’s my first (albeit short) letter to you:


Hey There,

I hope your holidays were wonderful! Mine sure was. I worked most of it, which was bitter-sweet. On one hand, it means I’ll have a nice addition to my next paycheck. On the other hand, I didn’t get as much family time or rest as I would have liked. I did get a few days off, but it’s still not the same as being at home for almost two full weeks.

What did you do for the holidays? What was your favorite part? What was your least favorite?

I had some time to reflect and work on my list for my Resolutions (goals) for this year. I made a spreadsheet in Excel to keep track of my progress. I even made corresponding tables, so I can show you my progress from time to time. Here’s my modified list:

Primary

  • Grow closer to God (immeasurable)
  • Have a conversation with my grandma in Spanish.
  • Write a letter a month to family/friends.
  • Read at least 15 novels (70k+ words each), or 1,050,000 words total.
  • Publish at least 30 blog posts.
  • Write at least three chapters of my novel.

Optional

  • Outline my entire novel.
  • Record blog posts in audio format.

I feel really good about these goals. They aren’t so big that I can’t achieve them, yet they aren’t so small that I can slack off for weeks at a time. I hope I don’t disappoint you.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Ryan

One thought on “New Year, New Look”

Let me know what you think!

