I’m a Multipotentialite

My wife was cleaning our office the other night and wanted to listen to something to help break up the monotony. She decided to listen to some TED talks on the computer, when she stumbled across this video about people who struggle with specializing in their careers and interests. After listening to it, she immediately sent me a text and told me I had to watch it, because it reminded her of me so much.

So I watched it.

She was right (yes, I said it: my wife was right). The speaker described me almost perfectly. She described people like me as “multipotentialites” because we’re always trying new things. Not only do we try many new things, but we dive into them head first.

One of my wife’s biggest complaints when we first got married was that I spent ridiculous amounts of money on hobbies, when I usually lost interest within a couple months—hardly enough time to break in all the fancy new equipment. And she was right.

I love to try new things, and every new thing is “going to be my calling” in my mind. So my mind starts racing and I start to do all the research and planning. Then, I politely ask her if I can get stuff for it, and she usually lets me get the very basics. Of course I feel let down, but that’s just because I can’t go all in like I used to.

And, big shock, the stuff I buy usually ends up sitting in the garage for months or I sell it when I find my next big attraction. So again, she’s right. I’m starting to see a pattern here.

The funny thing is, I was recently thinking about writing a post describing all the hobbies and interests I’ve had in the past, so the timing of her video suggestion timing was perfect.

So here goes. Here are all of my past hobbies and interests that I can remember:

  • Blogging
  • Golf (my current hobby)
  • Novel Writing (still in progress)
  • Astronomy
  • Disc Golf
  • Hockey
  • Journaling
  • Calligraphy
  • Learn French
  • Learn Spanish
  • Flying (ran out of money, but still going to finish this one)
  • Speed Skating (ice and dry land)
  • Curling
  • Karting
  • Wood Carving
  • Podcasting
  • YouTube Channel
  • Blacksmithing
  • Pottery
  • Model Ships
  • Model Warships (that shoot BBs and actually sink)
  • R/C Airplanes
  • Boatbuilding
  • Rowing
  • Sailing
  • Model Roc
  • Triathlon
  • Cartography
  • Architecture
  • Engineering
  • Wilderness Survival
  • Navigation by Stars
  • Movie Production
  • Photography
  • Stop Motion
  • Computer Coding
  • Game Design/Development

There you have it. Those are most of the hobbies that have come and gone over the past decade or so of my life. Some of them were little more than just reading, watching videos, and taking a few lessons. Others put me in debt.

Being a multipotentialite can be expensive and frustrating to me those around me, but it also allows me to experience many new things that most people wouldn’t. As the speaker in the video said, “Multipotentialites, with all of their backgrounds, are able to access a lot of these points of intersection.”

One of the things that my wife has told me is that she’s a bit jealous that I’ve experienced so many different things in my life without hesitation. I may not be an expert in anything, except my current career, but I can use little bits here and there from my list to approach things from a multitude of unique angles.

Simply put, I’m a kaleidoscope of knowledge and experience. Each of my pieces may not make a full, logical picture, but together they make something beautiful.

4 thoughts on “I’m a Multipotentialite”

  1. I can’t wait to check out the TED talk. I’m the same way; so is my husband. Our poor offspring!!! I will say that around age 40
    things began coming together for both of us and people who made fun of us for being flighty and all over the place recognized that we weren’t total screw ups and that we actually WERE forging our way to good careers. I say keep seeking and trying new things. You will find your calling.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think you’re really going to like the talk. The speaker talks about superpowers that we have, which were spot on for me. You might find the same for you.
      Personally, I’ve found a career that pays well and fulfills most of my needs. I just feel like I would do better in a position that utilizes my abilities more. Luckily, the company I work for has many different positions across multiple fields, so I’ll be searching for something with my newfound knowledge about myself!

      Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think!

